Daily Drawing #192, Time to Cat-ch A Break

My favorite part of this drawing challenge is I never know what I am going to draw. Sure I use prompts but sometimes, like today, I just draw whatever comes to mind. The drawing for today is entitled “Trying to Cat-ch a Break.” it is modeled off of the old Popeye cartoons where Wimpy always asks :I’ll pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today.” In the Bible God tells us in, Proverbs 21:13 ESV, “Whoever closes his ear to the cry of the poor will himself call out and not be answered.”

What does this have to do with my drawing? The answer is simple. We are called to care for those who can’t care for themselves. If this means buying someone a meal, then that is what God calls us to provide. The one thing I am reluctant to do is to hand someone money only because I don’t know what they will use the money to buy.  Instead I would give them a grocery card, or take them to an agency where they can receive the deeper help they need. The life of a follower of Jesus is all about giving.

