10,000 Drawings That Just Don’t Work

A few simple words of encouragement from Thomas Edison who when questioned about his invention the light bulb had this to say, “I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”

I find at times the life of an artist seems like a life of drawing maybe not 10,000 drawings that just don’t live up to our expectations but which lead us to other drawing. Many times we have drawers full of drawing which we may view as failures. I know I used to look at these drawing and shake my head. However I like Edison don’t see them as failed attempts but as stepping stones to those drawings and paintings which I really like.

Each drawing I create leads me to another drawing, then another drawing. I no longer have failures in art but pieces which just didn’t work.

Leave a Reply

