Daily Art #137 Pika, Pika, Pika Shoo

The drawing prompt today was to draw a living thing be it an animal or plant. I usually lean to drawing cats which on another blog I am up to cat drawing #24. I also draw a lot of faces so I didn’t want to go in that direction. In searching for something to draw I found an article about how China is killing of the Pikas. I clicked on the link and to my surprise I found a Pika is a real animal. I sketched one and created my drawing, “The Little Pika is Going Shoo.”

When my son was growing up he watched Pokemon episodes and also collected the toys. One of my favorite characters was the little yellow creature known as Pikachu. The only word he spoke was “Pika” even when he was animated. No pun intended. I was amazed to learn the students at the school where I work still watch Pokemon. I had thought it fizzed out years ago. I guess Pokemon is not a true fad because it seems to have staying power.

There are times in life we get caught up in the fad of the moment. Need I mention Pet Rocks, Cabbage Patch Kids or Beanie Babies. Sadly for some becoming a follower of Jesus Christ is a fad. They rush in whole heartily like people do with fads but somewhere along the line things change and the luster of the moment wears off. This is when they turn away and lay their supposed live for Jesus on the fad shelf.

The problem with many is they don’t realize when you walk with Jesus there is no promise of a joy filled and rosy life. I have found in my own life that things seemed to get harder. It is not easy to stand up against opposition for what you believe. Maybe this is the reason people walk away from their faith. I don’t know. All I know is that that true faith in Jesus is not a fad it is a relationship which is built on love and faith.

Leave a Reply

