Doodle #119, Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow

The word of the day is, “hair.” The title of my doodle for today is, “Girl With the Pulled Up Hair.” Back in the day there was this little musical called “Hair.” The musical from the 1960’s was a rock musical born out of the hippie counterculture and sexual revolution of the time. While most of the musical was controversial back in the day the title song by the Cowalls is still one of my favorites:

“give me a head with hair, long beautiful hair
Shining, gleaming, steaming, flaxen, waxen
Give me down to there hair, shoulder length or longer
Here, baby, there, momma, everywhere, daddy, daddy
Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair”

A lot of people like from the 60’s and 70’s had long hair. It was sign of the times. The only problem is mine would always frizz and get curly but still I would let it grow to my momma’s dismay. Years later, now sporting a grey buzz cut I think back in fondness to all the hair I used to have. I realized years ago as my hair started to turn grey and I developed the middle aged look that you cannot hold onto the past. It is not something to be grasped in you hand . Our outward appearances change. Even our hearts desires change.  Still I sit back and wonder what happened to all the friends I used to know.  All I have left to say is something I heard somewhere, “Hold onto you memories tightly but hold onto your friend even tighter.”

Leave a Reply

