Doodle #114, Looking Beyond the Fence

The task for today was to draw or paint a fence. The end result is my drawing “Me, My Dog and a Fence.”  When I was younger one of my favorite songs was “Signs” by the Five Man Electric Band.  I loved the part of the sing where he complains about people putting up fences to keep people out. Well as a child a fence for me was an opportunity see what was beyond the fence. Peeking through holes,cracks any opening I could find I would try to spy what was beyond the fence. Sadly as an adult I still have a fondness for trying to see what lies behind any fences I come across.

In life I think we do the same. We try look beyond the fence of each day ahead to tomorrow. At times we get so concerned about what is behind the fence we forget to live the life we have on this side of the fence. I know I am going through that right now because of my bought with cancer.  Instead of, as the Bible states letting, “tomorrow worry about itself,” I let my mind wander ahead to the future beyond the fence instead of living in the here and now on this side of the fence. Each day I have to remind myself the fence is not only there to keep things out but to keep things in, as my life should be, kept in the here and now enjoying each day to the fullest.

One thought on “Doodle #114, Looking Beyond the Fence

  1. There’sdefinately a lot to leqrn abouut
    his issue. I love alll off thhe points yoou hve made.
    Saved as a favorite,I live yor site! I aam surde tthis piece oof writing has tpuched aall thee internewt people, itss reallyy realy pleaeant article oon buolding uup
    new website. http://cspan.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

