Doodle #109, Going Retro, Reliving the Old Life


American’s it seems are into the retro life. What is now old has become the new trend. People flock to antique dealers and the such to by vintage items in order to decorate their homes like their parents and grandparents. Still others, especially baby boomers , buy cars meant to look like cars from the 60’s and 70’s.  I often wonder why.

Is it because they want to recapture some of the best moments of their past life? Maybe, maybe not. I think all the fascination with the past is because we don’t want to grow older. Buying up items we once owned, or driving cars from the past or which look like cars from the past help us hold into our youth. I know I don’t want to grow old either but their is nothing I can do to stop it or slow my aging down.

Buying up the stuff I used to own in my youth will not turn back the clock it will be just more stuff as my daughter in law says, “she will have to get rid off when my wife and I are gone.” Instead I must prepare myself for the last phase of my life by doing what I can to keep myself mentally and physically fit. I plan on spending the time I have left, traveling, drawing and doing all I can for others. It is what I have been called by God to do and plan to do it to the best of my abilities.

My drawing today is an homage to the good ole days. The title is “Pink Poodle Skirt and a Coke.”

Leave a Reply

