Doodle #103, America Stuck in the Dessert


What can said about Americans but that we love our desserts. According to a USA Today article published in 2013 at least, “40% of consumers surveyed say they’re eating desserts after a meal at least twice weekly,” but that number is probably higher.  Why the love for sweets? America seems to have developed a taste for overindulgence for sugar.

I know I am one of those people. As a small child and beyond my mom always told me, “Timmy stop eating all them sweets, it is not good for you.” Now as I age and hindsight being what it is I should have headed her warning.  I, for the last 15 years, am a diabetic. Part of the root cause was eating too much sugary foods and soda. The other part was being to sedentary. Truthfully my doctor told me I would have developed diabetes at some point in my life, but I could have put it off for many more years had I been in better health.

Today’s advice is both Biblical and just that advice. The Bible tells us in 1 Corinthians 9:27, “But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.” In other words avoid the sweets and other things bad for you and eat right. Also make sure not to be sedentary and keep moving. I wish I would have sought to be healthier when I was younger maybe I would have been in better health now.

Leave a Reply

