What Is True Art?

Have you ever looked at a piece of art only to say to yourself, “That is not true art.” I know I have. In fact many times in this drawing challenge I have question the validity of the pictures I am creating. Today I published my 100th doodle and as always I have doubts in my mind about whether they are even good enough to see the light of day. I have been taught as an artist, unless your work is well, great, it is not art.

However I have come to realize through this challenge that art does not have to be a perfect configurations of lines and colors to be considered true art. The key to creating true art is simply learning the basic principles of art such as composition, color to name two and then going about the creation process.  The only reason I mention learning the basics is so when you break the rules in creating abstracts and the like you know what rules your are breaking.

So in the end you see true art is not what is true to others it is true to you. I am not a trained artist. I did not go to any fancy art school. I simple took a couple community college art classes and moved on from there. My art may not be earth shattering and not fit into everybody’s tastes but it is the types of art I like to create. It is my true art.

Leave a Reply

