Doodle #100, Always Eat Your Veggies

img_4499

I remember as a kid my mom always telling me to, “Eat my veggies or else I was not going to get any dessert.” Then she would proceed to plop down in front of me a salad or other veggies and I would sit there with a scowl on my face think, “I’ve got to eat this stuff. Can’t we just skip right to dessert?”

Her reply was always, “If you eat to much dessert and not enough vegetables you will get big.” Jump ahead quite a few years and I am still struggling with my weight. I used to blame it on my genes. However after loosing some weight and keeping it off by eating right I am sure had I listened to my mom and eaten my vegetables I would not have developed a sweet tooth I would have probably lived a healthier life and not have developed some of the problem related to weight gain.

I don’t know what all this has to do with art but their is a lesson in their somewhere. The Bible does say in Proverbs 1:8, “Hear, my son, your father’s instruction, and forsake not your mother’s teaching.” There are times in our lives when our parents seem like the most clueless people on the planet. Looking back they were not the clueless ones I was for not heading their advice on a number of topics.

Leave a Reply

