Doodle #97, Life Among the Leaves


It is spring once again. The world is sprouting with new life. Flowers are popping out of the ground and trees are getting their new leaves. Spring has always been my favorite time of year because the earth once again filled with pageantry and color. As an artist color is one of my favorite things to put in my paintings. Color can bring forth a whole range of emotions. Reds and yellows are warm colors and invoke feelings of happiness but they can also be irritating to the eyes. Blues and darker colors are more relaxing and invoke feelings of melancholy and are more relaxing colors.

A lot of the paintings I do tend to be filled with warm colors. It is not really intentional. It is just where my artist’s brain gravitates. One of things I am trying to learn in doing this doodle challenge is how to get out of my color comfort zone and experiment with different color variations or maybe no color at all. I have learned different colored markings in pen and pencil can create a satisfying effect

Another thing I learned is just like the,”Little Boy in the Tree,” my illustration for today, unless you learn to be adventurous and experiment with things as an artist you will never grow as an artist or for that matter life will never be as interesting as it might be if you climb out of your comfort zone

Leave a Reply

