Van Gogh, his work is an Inspiration

vangogh

I am a big fan of Vincent Van Gogh. His artwork has brought me more inspiration than any other artist except for maybe the portraits of Rembrandt. Van Gogh’s painting are not only colorful but they do not entirely capture the truthfulness of a scene.

As a new artist many years ago I felt very down on myself because I could not give my painting the truthfulness of a scene. My paintings did not have the look of a photograph like other artists. Over the years I almost gave up on art because I could not reproduce lifelike work then I discovered artists like VanGogh.

I looked at his paintings and saw hope. While I know Van Gogh did not have the availability of photographic he did have paints and pens and took to creating the things he saw around  him in paints. His renderings may not be photographic reminders they are wonderful recreations in color or pen and ink. His paintings give us colorful renderings of flowers or landscapes with people. The hope I saw in Van Gogh’s paintings was the fact my paintings did not have to look exactly as what I was recreating but they could be a representation done in my style and in my way.

As artist we are not all going to create our art in the same way but we must all never give up on our art. Keep plugging away. Keep rendering until you develop your own style and your own art. Like Van Gogh create paintings that feel good to you and remember you are never going to please everyone but good art starts with pleasing yourself and then putting your work out there.

Leave a Reply

