Finding time to create

I like many artists have a problem. I love to create art but can’t keep my butt in the chair long enough to finish a new art piece. Over the long years of creating I’ve accepted some truths and also had some light bulb moments.

The truths are these:
1) Art is not something to be forced. A piece of art comes not by forcing the piece into being but by taking the time to let it come out of the heart. So if a piece is not coming together at the moment come back to it later when you have the time.
2) Art comes in many different forms. I used to think art had to be something I sat down and created but it isn’t. Many times I have taken my art on the road and created something outside like a piece of art out of wood for my lawn.

The light bud moments are these:
1. Art comes in many forms. When I am work I love to doodle and can crank out a drawing in a few moments.
2. Don’t put to much pressure on yourself to create. Don’t get frustrated if you do not have enough time to create or just don’t feel like creating at the moment the moment when you want to create will come.

What does all this have to do with finding time to create. Easy we all have time to create art if we eke out a few moments each day.

Leave a Reply

